Worth Repeating: Writing

When I think back to the years that I was in school, I vaguely remember my relationship with writing. I remember a short story I wrote when I was really young, probably 3rd or 4th grade, about going to a dinosaur museum and having the dinosaurs coming to life. I remember how imaginative everyone thought I was.

I remember in junior high how I had a knack for writing love poems, even though I never really shared them, except for the one time that a friend of mine really wanted to impress a girl, and asked me to “help” him with the poem. It was one of the better poems I wrote.

I remember in high school how I kind of hated homework all together, but regained a joy for writing after returning to college in 2005. I had a writing class with a great teacher and a great semester of subject matters, mainly because we got to choose a lot of what we wrote about.

Since then, in my pursuit to somehow enter the film industry as a professional, I have begun writing screenplays, both on my own and with writing partners. In the last year and a half, we have written 5 screenplays and 5 treatments…not to shabby some would say. To me and to us, its not a huge feat, since the longest it took us to write 1 script was about 50 or 60 hours of work, and the longest to write a treatment was about 2 days.

But here’s the point: there’s something about writing that is just so uniquely fulfilling. It allows you to create, to express, to imagine, to impress. I read an article or a section of a book back in college about the language of Art, how things can be expressed in art that you can’t really express in words. It rings true even when you’re using words as the medium! We’ve all read a poem or seen a play or a work of art or heard music that in some way spoke to us in ways that we have since sought after because of the way it effected us. But upon trying to relay and share the feeling with another, our words fall short and that person is often unimpressed by the event, not being able to hear the original language of the art.

I completely agree with that idea. Writing is one of many ways I like to interact with art, both in doing it myself as well as in reading the writing of others. I love movies, music, and art and my wife and I love to go on gallery strolls, go to movies, and the theater and live music events. There’s just something about it that you don’t get from the day to day interactions of life. There’s a level of emotional communication that art lends itself to that if we are listening, we can be greatly enriched.

Art, in all of its forms is something worth repeating, both as a spectator and as the creator. Writing specifically has been a huge thrill ride for me, probably because I have seldom run into the dreaded writer’s block. There’s something about coming up with an idea, putting pen to paper, and then watching as someone reads what you just wrote. Watching their eyes light up, watching their lips turn a smile, and hearing them genuinely laugh is that same level of communication that, had I just told them the idea, or “the gist of it”, would have been absent.

However you like to create and express yourself, find ways to spend time doing it. Who knows, you could even make some money at it if a script or novel gets sold, or you record an album and can sell it at shows, or someone wants to buy that piece of art or that photograph from you. And if you’re already sustaining yourself on your art, make sure to take time to reach that “higher level” of emotion and communication.

You’ll find its worth repeating…

UPDATE: Here’s a link to the article I referenced. Thanks to my English 311 teacher Susan Miller for helping me find it 🙂 http://bit.ly/8X6HYc

  1. You are a great writer and you should keep at it. You have great things to say and interesting observations. Don’t stop doing what you’re doing. Your awesomeness just keeps growing.

  2. Thanks Isaac. Would you agree though, with your performing and your dancing, that there’s a higher level of communication between you and the audience than if you just told them about the performance afterwards? I’m curious your thoughts…

    • Oh yes, absolutely. The things you express in the moment of creation are far richer than just expressing on an intellectual level. This is something that makes writing and visual arts so interesting. They leave a tangible record of that moment. Live performance is interesting for different reasons because you express the same things each time but in different ways and taking a different journey to the same result.

      The connection to my audience is precious. When I am truly present and in the moment, expressing my entire experience, I get a thrill and feel completely free.

      It has been said that all artist are joy seekers and spend their lives doing what they can to preserve the joy they feel by creating. I definitely believe this. There are many things that I am good at and many things that will make me a lot more money than what I do. But nothing makes me feel even a fraction as good as when I am creating.

  3. keep on doing what your heart desires! as an artist of all sorts of media i find there’s such a great thrill to manifest things that i never knew what was inside of me. i recently picked up writing again, after many years of being a closet poet. lately, i’ve been inspired to write lyrics and one day i hope to take them into a recording studio when the time is right.

  4. keep on doing what your heart desires! as an artist of all sorts of media i find there’s such a great thrill to manifest things that i never knew what was inside of me. i recently picked up writing again, after many years of being a closet poet. lately, i’ve been inspired to write lyrics and one day i hope to take them into a recording studio when the time is right.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

